Home

I have contributed a chapter to Trevor Marchand’s Craftwork as Problem Solving just published by Ashgate. The “volume brings together a cross-disciplinary group of anthropologists, researchers of craft, and designer makers to enumerate and explore the diversity and complexity of problem-solving tactics and strategies employed by craftspeople, together with the key social, cultural,and environmental factors that give rise to particular ways of problem solving”.

I write about a practical studio research project in which I disrupted and interrogated my own embedded working practices through two projects: In Our Houses and The Tool at Hand. Disrupting and breaching normal procedural conditions and working assumptions brought into focus the suppositions on which my working practices are founded.

 

book

 

